UMC have announced today a huge 6-CD box set release that features all of Mott The Hoople’s recordings (previously unheard and unreleased tracks too) between 69 and 71, including hits like ‘Thunderbuck Ram’, ‘Laugh At Me’, ‘Waterlow’, and a new version of ‘Rock And Roll Queen’.

50 pages of rare photos of the band in a brand new booklet and extensive footnotes by Mott-expert Kris Needs accompany the four studio albums, unheard tracks, live recordings, and covers of classic tracks like ‘Hey Jude’, ‘You Really Got Me’, and ‘Like A Rolling Stone’. Coming out on November 2nd via UMC, this will be an essential purchase for Mott fans and an essential present for anyone that knows a Mott fan! There will be a lot of excitement around this one as there has never been a release that specifically covers the years between 1969 and 1971 like this before.

Out November 2nd

Bringing together all of their albums from the period, the set also includes bonus material plus BBC sessions and live concerts. The studio albums have all been remastered from the original tapes (where available) by renowned engineer Andy Pearce and have been complemented by bonus tracks selected by Mott the Hoople expert, Kris Needs.

Disc 5 comprises more unheard and, in some cases, unreleased music from the Island archive and Disc 6 rounds everything off with live material recorded at Fairfield Hall, Croydon on 13th September 1970 plus a BBC Radio One In Concert from the Paris Theatre, London on 30th December 1971. The CDs are housed in a shoe box style package with a 50-page booklet designed by Phil Smee who scoured the archives for rare photos and memorabilia, tracing the evolution of the band. It is completed with comprehensive sleeve notes by Kris Needs.

Disc Titles:
Disc One: 
Mott the Hoople plus bonus tracks
Disc Two: Mad Shadows plus bonus tracks
Disc Three: Wildlife plus bonus tracks
Disc Four: Brain Capers plus bonus tracks
Disc Five: The Ballads of Mott The Hoople
Disc Six: It’s Live and Live Only


Originally released November 22 1969 – Island Records ILPS 9108

  1. You Really Got Me

  2. At the Crossroads

  3. Laugh at Me

  4. Backsliding Fearlessly

  5. Rock and Roll Queen

  6. Rabbit Foot and Toby Time

  7. Half Moon Bay

  8. Wrath and Wroll

Bonus Tracks

  1. If Your Heart Lay with the Rebel (Would You Cheer the Underdog?) (Instrumental Take 2)

  2. Rock and Roll Queen (Single A side)

  3. Road to Birmingham (Single B side)

  4. Road to Birmingham (Guy Steven’s Mix)

  5. You Really Got Me (Complete take)

  6. You Really Got Me (Vocal mix) 

  7. Rock and Roll Queen (Guy Steven’s Mono Mix)

  8. Rock and Roll Queen (Kitchen Sink Instrumental)

  9. Little Christine (2 Miles)

Originally released September 1970 – Island Records ILPS 9119

  1. Thunderbuck Ram

  2. No Wheels to Ride

  3. You Are One of Us

  4. Walking with a Mountain

  5. I Can Feel

  6. Threads of Iron

  7. When My Mind’s Gone

Bonus Tracks

  1. Thunderbuck Ram (BBC Session)

  2. Thunderbuck Ram (Original Take with Organ)

  3. No Wheels to Ride (Demo)

  4. Moonbus (Baby’s Got a Down on Me)

  5. The Hunchback Fish (Vocal Rehearsal)

  6. You Are One of Us (Take 9)

  7. Going Home (2 Miles)

  8. Keep A-Knockin’ (Studio version)

Originally released March 1971 – Island Records ILPS 9144

  1. Whiskey Women

  2. Angel of Eighth Avenue

  3. Wrong Side of the River

  4. Waterlow

  5. Lay Down

  6. It Must Be Love

  7. The Original Mixed Up Kid

  8. Home Is Where I Want to Be

  9. Keep A-Knockin’ (Live)

Bonus Tracks

  1. Midnight Lady (Single A side)  

  2. The Debt (Single B side)

  3. Downtown (Single A side)

  4. Brain Haulage (Whiskey Woman)

  5. Growing Man Blues (Take 10)

  6. Long Red (Demo)

  7. The Ballad of Billy Joe

  8. Lay Down (Take 8

Originally released December 1971 – Island Records – ILPS 9178

  1. Death May Be Your Santa Claus

  2. Your Own Backyard

  3. Darkness, Darkness

  4. The Journey

  5. Sweet Angeline

  6. Second Love

  7. The Moon Upstairs

  8. The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception

Bonus Tracks

  1. Mental Train (The Moon Upstairs)

  2. How Long? (Death May Your Santa Claus)

  3. Darkness, Darkness

  4. Your Own Backyard (Complete Take)

  5. Where Do You All Come From (Backing Track)

  6. One of the Boys (Take 2)

  7. Movin’ On (2 Miles)

  8. Black Scorpio (Mommas Little Jewel)

Unheard and unreleased music from the Island archive

  1. Like a Rolling Stone (Fragment) 

  2. No Wheels to Ride (1st House)

  3. Angel Of 8th Avenue (Tape 816)

  4. The Journey

  5. Blue Broken Tears (Tape 816)

  6. Black Hills (Full Ralph’s Version)

  7. Can You Sing the Song That I Sing (Full Take)

  8. Till I’m Gone (2 Miles)

  9. The Original Mixed Up Kid (BBC Session)

  10. Ill Wind Blowing (2 Miles)

  11. I’m A River (Vocal Rehearsal) 

  12. Ride on The Sun (Sea Diver) (2 Miles)

– Tracks 1 – 7: Fairfield Hall, Croydon, 13 September 1970
– Tracks 8 to 12: Paris Theatre, London, BBC Radio One, In Concert, 30 December 1971

  1. Rock and Roll Queen

  2. Ohio

  3. No Wheels to Ride / Hey Jude

  4. Thunderbuck Ram

  5. Keep A-Knockin’

  6. You Really Got Me

  7. The Moon Upstairs

  8. Whiskey Women

  9. Your Own Backyard

  10. Darkness, Darkness

  11. The Journey

  12. Death May Be Your Santa Claus

Read More Posts Like This

  • sky-q-silver-e1455058376382-300x194

    Sky Q has been grabbing headlines recently but what is it all about? I reckon you can probably guess that it’s the latest set-top box from Sky but what else can it do to sate your telly addiction? Sure, the Sky Q box looks different to what might currently be shoved under your telly, but new hardware is only half…

  • Wax Box 2 Announced

    Colarado based 3beez contacted Hifi Pig to tell us about their new Wax Box 2 music management system for storing , cataloguing and playing music files. “We have had a great response to the Wax Box 1 in the year since its introduction, but many audiophiles told us they wanted higher storage capacity” said 3beez president, Jeffrey Barish. “Wax Box…

  • Pro-Ject Audio Systems ha been a producer of analogue hifi audio equipment for more than 25 years. Pro-Ject say: 'We have been producing a range of products with excellent sound and finish with an impeccable price-performance proposition. With the same principles in mind we started to create budget friendly yet high end audiophile electronics”. “We are very proud to introduce…

You must be logged in to leave a reply.